The San Diego Sprint Basketball Team Awards

Posted August 24, 2017

MVP: Shynisha Johnson 

By a unanimous decision, this year's MVP award goes to Shynisha Johnson. She lead the team in scoring this season. She was also awarded a spot on the 2017 WBCBL All- Star second team.

Most improved: Michelle Brown 

Michelle joined the team after the season started. She had a slow start but towards the end of the season, she showed she belongs on the court.

Co Rookie of the year: Berika Egberuare, Jacqueline Melendez 

These team players are epitome of good sportsmanship. They have a "never give up" attitude. They were able to show that on the court and in their stats as well.

Defense player of the year: Dechae Evans 

Dechae is a hard nose post that can rack up points during the game. She also lead the team in steals this season.

Comeback award: Tenisha Lee

Tenisha started off the season strong. She lead the team in scoring towards the beginning of the season. As a U.S. service member, Tenisha was called to duty. She left her family and teammates to serve the country. But she didn't stay away, Tenisha re-joined the team and made an effort to play hard on the court. 

Most Inspirational: Lia Siganporia 

Lia is a player all coaches would want to have on their team. She is a hard worker and has a giving spirit. For multiple games, she gave up her starting spot for the betterment of the team. 

Coach of the year: Tyrone Shelley

The Sprint players seem to adapt to his coaching style. He takes pride in helping players improve their skills. As head coach and co-owner, Shelley is looking to build a name for the San Diego Sprint

GM of the year: Ross Kurland

Kurland helped put together a good group of professional women basketball players. He is also the regional director for the west coast division of the WBCBL. 



The San Diego Sprint Basketball Team Awards

August 24, 2017   read more

San Diego Sprint Shynisha Johnson joins WBCBL 2nd team All- Stars

August 21, 2017   read more

Sluggish Start For The San Diego Sprint.

May 11, 2017   read more
  • Welcome to the new home of the San Diego Sprint
  • This page is currently under construction. Please check back as new information will be added soon.

Countdown to
St. Patrick's Day

(Mar 17, 2017 @ 12:00am)

WOOT WOOT. It's here!


Number of visits to the site: